ICYMI Episode 09 – “New Year, New Wheatsongs

IICYMI Episode 09 - New Year, New Wheatsongs - bannerEnjoy a REPLAY of New Year, New Wheatsongs, originally broadcast during Wheatland Worldwide 2020 on YouTube.

Wheatsongs is a songwriter program that runs during the Wheatland Music Festival. Wheatsongs continued online as part of Wheatland Worldwide 2020 led by songwriting instructors Jan Krist and Dan Hazlett. The program expanded to a full week and included additional events and sessions. Each participant was challenged to research a character or a story from a book – assigned uniquely to them – to follow that trail where ever the research or the muse took them to “get the song”.

The online program featured teaching segments, discussions and sharing session of songwriting process, group performances and one-on-one sessions with Dan and Jan and each participant.

Wheatsongs 2020 Participants (with songs).

4:31 — Kathy Wieland (Ann Arbor) – “The Man in the Moon”
7:04 — Stephen Jones (Detroit) – “The Ring Bearer”
10:14 — Eileen Kozloff (Lakewood Ranch, FL) – “Not My Home”
14:42 — Wade Whittington (Houghton Lake) – “Very Bad Day”
18:28 — Shawn Butzin (Traverse City) – “Take Time to Smell the Roses”
22:18 — Jerry Price (Detroit) – “Nightingale”
22:18 — Mandy Troxel (Orcas Island, WA) – “Living History”
30:05 — Laura Frawley (Alcona County) – “The Story of The Frog and Toad”
32:48 — John Sanger (Grand Rapids) – “Dead Horse Pass”
36:28 — Don Lee (Farmington Hills) – “Hopeless Case”
40:21 — Sean Miller (Petosky) – “Huckleberry Finn”
42:42 — Doug Larsen (Highland) – “Dear God”
47:25 — Milan Seth (Ann Arbor) – “Headless”
51:29 — Sue Horowitz (Sioux City, IW) – “Tangled”
55:01 — Linden Thoburn (Brighton) – “Robin Hood”
58:42 — Nathan James (Grand Rapids) – “Stranded”

The session closes with 2 songs each by songwriting instructors Jan Krist (“Hope” & “Frankenstein”) and Dan Hazlett (“In October” & “The Electrician”)

More on Wheatsongs